in which I regress to childhood

Standard

LIZAANNE LISTENS TO AEOLUS

As you all know, I’ve been reading James Joyce’s “Ulysses” along with the Wandering Rocks team. 

Well, we have a new section this week– “Aeolus” [yup, it is full of wind bags]– and a new contributor– Brendan.  With all of this novelty floating about, I figured I would try reading this chapter in a retro way…

“You can read along with me in your book.  You will know it is time to turn the page when you hear the chimes ring, like this.*Ping*  Let’s begin now.” 

{ye olde Disney read-along books on records– anyone?  John–enough with the cricket noises already.  You just don’t know the glory of 45’s.} 

a disney record player-- I totally had one of these.  wonder what happened to it.

a disney record player-- I totally had one of these. wonder what happened to it.

Our Brendan doesn’t have any chimes, but he has read aloud “Ulysses” and made his recordings available as podcasts: the Joycecast.  Please go and have a listen. 

Brendan’s voice is lovely  {I have a thing for men with great reading voices.  Yum.}  His accents are generally quite good (and, as far as I know, he comes by them legitimately), and my favorite bit is that he keeps his little mistakes of pronunciation or inflection in.  Thus, his readings feel comfortable and friendly, instead of formal or stiff.  I put his “Aeolus” on my pretty purple ipod & read along with him in my book.  I managed to figure out when to turn the page all by myself.  I know you are proud.  I also made silly notes in the margins– you have come to expect nothing less, I know.

So, my darlings, go and have a listen; then come back tomorrow, when I will post my first batch of marginalia for this chapter.

 

my choice of reading material have grown up a bit, but being read to still rocks!

my choice of reading material have grown up a bit, but being read to still rocks!

p.s.  CeCe, my playmate, if you want to come out and play with me at Wandering Rocks, we’ll be jolly friends forever more.  Or, follow the page-by-page shenanigans on Twitter: WanderingRox

 
2 responses »

  1. I agree that it’s great to hear Brendan’s reading (don’t know how he’ll handle Circe). I haven’t gone so far as to read-along. Let me know how it affects your reading/understanding.

    • I grew up with audio story-telling (Old Time Radio, Adventures in Odyssey, Alice’s Restaurant, etc.– not to mention the Disney books I mentioned in my post), so listening to stories is pretty ingrained in my psyche, but reading along with proper lit is a technique I haven’t used in years. I think the last time was back in high school reading “The Wasteland” along w/ Eliot’s own recordings . So, this was an unusual experience.

      In addition, this chapter is a challenge, as the headers keep interrupting the narrative’s flow. Hearing the titles as TITLES enlightened me to the newspaper conceit– I was originally tempted to read them as advertisements/ cut sheets.

      Hearing a more traditionally-told section would be nice, though. I was grateful for his pronunciation of the Irish names, and for some of the words I had heard but hadn’t seen written before (like “calumet”).

      Overall, I will probably listen on and off, or maybe use it as my second reading of the sections I’m funmarizing, but I will continue to read traditionally. I think I need the words on paper & pen in hand to process such a complex narrative style.

Leave a Reply

