Wobbly bits– Ulysses section 6 part 1

Standard
This is how I felt about this chapter.

This is how I felt about this chapter.

What happened to my Ulysses comments, you may ask. 

Well, I didn’t want to steal Katie Else’s thunder over at Wandering Rocks.  She  is doing such a lovely job of summarizing and discussing the “Hades” section 6 (yes, ok, I know it’s been awhile since I blogged about it, but yes, I am definately still reading!)  Do not abandon hope, all ye who enter here.

But now as she’s well on her way, I think it is about time to share with you some more of my random marginalia for this section.  If you want to see the previous bits of these, click on the Ulysses Category in my sidebar. 

 Off we go! 

“Huggermugger in corners”– like the flower watcher in As Time Goes By?

“Goulding, Collis and Ward he calls the firm”– see Car Talk’s  Dewey, Cheatem and Howe.  Ha!

“He’s in with a lowdown crowd, Mr Dedalus snarled…” — Yikes!  Mr. Dedalus is the Aunt Agatha chewing broken bottles & devouring his young.

“See him grow up.”– This longing is terribly sad.  I like Leo again.

“O jumping Jupiter!”– “Leaping Lizards!”

“It’s as uncertain as a child’s bottom.”– Now that just doesn’t make any sense.

“Blazes Boylan, Mr Power said”– Hello, Blazes, about time!

“Shift stuck between the cheeks behind.”– Eww!  He does like her squidgy, wobbly bits, though.  Cue Bridget Jones, here.

 

This looks like a good place to end for tonight.   Who’d have imagined Leaping Lizards and wobbly bits gallivanting about in the Underworld– apparently Joyce.

Are you enjoying these wobbly bits of randomness?  Leave me a comment and let me know!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Hades is not a cheerful place « Words All Day Thru

Leave a Reply

